Edgaras Montvidas

Edgaras Montvidas

| Lithuania - United Kingdom

Lithuanian born tenor Edgaras Montvidas was educated in Vilnius before joining the Young Artists Programme at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden. Last season he made debuts at both the Opéra National du Rhin Strasbourg as Don José (G. Bizet "Carmen") and at the Bregenzer Festspiele as Pinkerton (G. Puccini "Madam Butterfly"), sang Boris role in "Katya Kabanová" with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic conducted by Karina Canellakis and C. Monteverdi "Madrigals" in a ballet production at Opernhaus Zürich conducted by Riccardo Minasi. He recently performed the role of Grigori (M. Mussorgsky "Boris Godunov") in a new production by Barrie Kosky in his debut at Opernhaus Zürich and returned to the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in the title role of "La Clemenza di Tito". Other recent roles include Boris in "Katya Kabanová" for Staatsoper Hamburg and the title role in the world première of "Egmont" by Christian Jost at the Theater an der Wien. Edgaras has also sung Werther and Pinkerton roles for Opéra Nationale de Lorraine; "Les contes d’Hoffmann" for Komische Oper Berlin; Flamand (R. Strauss "Capriccio") for La Monnaie, Brussels; Edgardo (G. Donizetti "Lucia di Lammermoor") for Semperoper Dresden and Anatol in S. Barber's opera "Vanessa" for Glyndebourne Festival. He has also appeared at Santa Fe Opera; Dutch National Opera; Opéra Comique Paris; Grand Théâtre de Genêve; Oper Frankfurt; Opéra Nationale de Lyon and Aix-en-Provence Festival. Concert highlights have included I. Stravinsky’s "Le Rossignol" with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Pierre Boulez; K. Szymanowski’s "King Roger", M. Ravel "L’enfant et les sortilèges" with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Charles Dutoit; G. Verdi’s "Requiem" on tour with the Monteverdi Choir and Sir John Eliot Gardiner; K. Szymanowski’s "Harnasie" with the London Symphony Orchestra and Sir Simon Rattle. Recordings include Hélios in Félicien David’s Herculanum with the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra and Hervé Niquet; Marcomir in C. Saint-Saëns’s "Les barbares", Ch. Gounod "Le tribut de Zamora" and B. Godard "Dante" with the Münchner Rundfunkorchester and, in August 2020, C. Saint-Saëns’s "Le timbre d’argent" with Les Siècles and François-Xavier Roth. Montvidas has been awarded the Lithuanian National Prize for Culture and Arts 2023; Lithuanian Order of Merit medal by President Dalia Grybauskaite and has twice been awarded the Lithuanian Theatre Award, The Golden Cross of the Stage, (in 2009 and 2022).

Main Supporters

Media sponsor


Member of